Click to Home

Go To Search
RSSPrintEmailFacebook
Biscoe Gray Heritage Farm
This site is rich in natural and cultural resources and is a living laboratory to explore, understand and experience Calvert County's agricultural practices and lifestyles throughout its history--from Native American settlements, small scale colonial farming, and farming practices through the centuries.

By offering experiences in how citizens have lived with the land throughout history the Biscoe Gray Heritage Farm offers insights into how we can continue and improve good stewardship practices which sustain the quality of life of Calvert County and the larger Chesapeake Bay ecosystem.


Recent Happenings
  • A revised Park Brochure is available; it includes the new trail map. 
  • Public Deer Hunting is closed until the 2017-2018 season. Specific information about hunting at Biscoe Gray Heritage Farm and the State Department of Natural Resources Southern Region Public Hunting Permit and Reservation System is available online or by phone at the Myrtle Grove office at 301-743-5161.  Additional details about hunting opportunities in Calvert County can be found on www.calvertparks.org 
  • Interpretive Signs. Funded through a grant from the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, new signs, benches, even a picnic area, will be added to the farm. New hiking trails will be created to take visitors to some of the interesting natural areas of the farm. 
  • George E. Rice House and Outbuildings. The house in the woods was built between 1915-1938 by Mr. Rice, and African American farmer. A grant from the African American Heritage Preservation Fund was used to rehabilitate the buildings.  During the restoration, iron objects were found under the doorways and corners of the outbuildings.These artifacts represent a new story to be told, to explore and understand the role African American culture and traditions and spirituality played in home building. 
  • Archaeologists from St. Mary’s College of Maryland tested an important Native American archaeological site. Overlooking Battle Creek, the site appears to have been occupied from as early as ca. 200 CE until 1300 CE. The archaeological investigations at Biscoe Gray were funded by a very generous grant from the National Park Service.
    The investigations yielded thousands of fragments of oyster shell, stone artifacts, and ceramic vessel fragments. Perhaps the most exciting find consisted of a linear series of post molds presumably associated with long-vanished architecture at the site. These post molds, ranging from 3 to 4 inches in diameter, were spaced approximately 8 inches apart. Architecture from these early centuries is relatively rare in the Chesapeake. Its presence at Biscoe Gray Heritage Farm enhances the historical significance of the park. Read More...


Park Address
2695 Gray's Road
Prince Frederick, MD 20678
For information call the Natural Resources Division Office: 410-535-5327

Equestrian Access
A free permit is required prior to bringing horses onto the property.

Read the Master Plan for the Farm (4.5 MB pdf) adopted December 14, 2010.


Tobacco PrizeGeorge Rice house

Plumer-Cranford Barn Rolling Road 

Contact Us

Park Address
2695 Gray's Road
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Equestrian Access
A free permit is required prior to bringing horses onto the property.
Submit your permit request online
Google Map to the Equestrian Entrance

For Information
410-535-5327

Directions
Google Directions to the Farm
Trail Map (pdf)

Hours
This park is still under development.
Grounds are open daily, dawn to dusk.
There are no facilities (water, restrooms)
Parking is limited, along the entrance drive.

Entrance Fee
None

Mailing Address
Biscoe Gray Heritage Farm
c/o Courthouse
175 Main Street
Prince Frederick, MD 20678

Media CenterCounty MapsShop Local