Calvert County, MD - Official Website - Historic District Commission
Click to Home

Go To Search
Historic District Commission
The Historic District Commission (HDC) serves as a citizen review board on matters concerning historic preservation within Calvert County. The seven members of the Historic District Commission, appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, have knowledge, training and special interest in historic preservation.

The HDC  makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners concerning the designation of sites as historic districts and applications for Calvert County tax credits for restoration work on structures in historic districts. There are currently 91 individual properties that have been designated historic districts in Calvert County. There are 3 additional properties that have been designated historic landmarks in the Town of North Beach. Those properties receive the same consideration as the county historic districts.

The HDC reviews and approves petitions and building permits for alteration, repair, moving or demolition of structures and for ground-disturbing activities within designated historic districts. The HDC also reviews subdivision and site plan applications which may affect historic districts and  makes recommendations on National Register nominations to the Maryland Historical Trust.

Notice of Public Hearing
There are no public hearings scheduled at this time.

        Second Wednesday of each month - 4:30 PM
        County Services Plaza Building
        150 Main Street, Department of Planning & ZoningConference Room - 3rd floor 
        Prince Frederick, MD 20678 

Thomas Dugan, Chair                                            
William J. Bass, Vice Chair
Scott Montgomery, Secretary
Timothy Davis
Robert K. Evans
Cynthia Fehr
Michael Kent

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Contact Us
Kirsti Uunila
Planner III-Historic Preservation
Ph: 410-535-1600 ext. 2504

Felicia Harrod
Administrative Aide
Ph: 410-535-1600 ext. 2337
County VideosCounty MapsShop Local